spacer.png, 0 kB
MyBookie Sportsbook
Join today.
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB

NHL Awards Previews

Written by Gaby Varji   
Friday, 31 May 2013 08:02

2013 Nominees – Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins), Josh Harding (Minnesota Wild), Adam McQuaid (Boston Bruins).As the NHL players, owners and general managers prepare to enjoy the NHL awards show, the best online sportsbook experts cannot help but notice that there will be some casualties of the lockout at this year’s awards. The shortened season is running later than any other season in NHL history. The Stanley Cup will be awarded closer to July 1 than any other season in NHL history. Because of that, this year’s NHL awards show will be held the same night as game two of the Stanley Cup finals. It is just another blemish on the mark of the NHL’s administrative record since 1993.

But the players being honored have all earned their night, and many of them will get the chance to walk across the stage and accept their awards. The sports betting services all have their personal favorites for winners of the more prominent awards and the betting experts are never shy at sharing their predictions for the NHL awards.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy – Dedication to Hockey


2013 Nominees – Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins), Josh Harding (Minnesota Wild), Adam McQuaid (Boston Bruins).

Sidney Crosby overcame several concussions and a broken jaw to compete in the NHL 2013 season, Minnesota goaltender Josh Harding performs at a high level despite having multiple sclerosis, and McQuaid fought through two emergency surgeries to combat a blood clotting disease that threatened to take his life. This could be the most difficult Masterton award decision that the sports book experts have seen in a very long time. The personal favorite to win this award of many of the betting experts is Josh Harding. While the playoffs are not supposed to count in this award, Harding’s sudden spotlight due to the injury of starting Niklas Backstrom in the warm-ups of game one have made Harding a national hero to people battling slowly crippling diseases.

Projected Winner: Josh Harding

Norris Trophy – League’s Best Defenseman

2013 Nominees – P.K. Subban (Montreal Canadiens), Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins), Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild)

As if P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens did not need more press coverage, he is now the odds-on favorite to win this year’s Norris Trophy for best defenseman. But the sports betting websites believe that, when the final votes are counted, Ryan Suter will be the winner. Subban plays a strong offensive game from the blue line, but he still has a lot to learn about playing defense in the NHL. Suter is the complete package and the best defenseman in the NHL.

Projected Winner: Ryan Suter

Calder Trophy – NHL Rookie Of The Year

2013 Nominees – Brendan Gallagher (Montreal Canadiens), Jonathan Huberdeau (Florida Panthers), Brendan Saad (Chicago Blackhawks)

The betting experts are talking more about the fact that Jonas Brodin of the Minnesota Wild is not on this list than the players who do show up. Huberdeau and Saad may not get the same kind of consideration as Gallagher for two very different reasons. Huberdeau is a good rookie on a terrible team and Saad did not start to show prime form until late in the season. With Brodin not on this list, look for Gallagher to be the rookie of the year.

My Pick: Brendan Gallagher

spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
Copyright © 2009-2017 - - spacer.png, 0 kB